Truth Hurts

6cce8020072353.56041ce8edb93

All my life, I keep hearing people telling me that truth hurts. I don’t understand before the meaning of that phrase. My old self’s principle was when you don’t like something, tell them. Simple. But at this point of my life, I finally found the true meaning of why the truth hurts.

She told me that it would be good if she will wait for the right time to say it so I promised myself not to expose it.I tried my best to keep it a secret. I lied to him thinking it was for the best. He’s my friend or maybe now, he was my friend.
He was crying earlier when she confronted him. They talked all their frustrations to each other while I sat inside the room praying and hoping it will turn out good. Then suddenly this happened.

“Nalain siya ninjo”

Three words enough to completely destroy my day. Do friends really need to tell each other everything even if it means it’ll destroy someone? That hits me like a truck. I realised I’ve been doing the right thing to the wrong person. Thinking I’m a fake friend for not telling the truth is absurd. I was waiting for her to confront him first because at the beginning I don’t have any involvement between that conflict. But feeling sorry and all, I did something that would be for the sake of everybody.

I swallowed my pride and asked sorry to him first. I explained my part even if I shouldn’t be explaining myself. But still, nothing happened. How long should I be like this? How long should I understand the attitudes of other people? When will this end? I keep telling myself to not let anger take over me. I should be the better man. I knew that I was the only one who can still think straight that time but it hurts knowing that I’ve done everything for his sake then this will be his pay.

Now he said sorry. I’m kinda relief because at least, we kind of fixed something. But should I really feel relief? Or should I fear the truth that this could be the end of a friendship?

Truth hurts because the people couldn’t grasp the reality of life. The reality of them. The people have this certain illusion about themselves thinking that’s how others see them, but that is not real. Look into a mirror and all you can see is your physical body, not your soul, not your attitude. The human mind tends to appreciate one’s self more than how others appreciate it. You, yourself, is having a hard time figuring out the insides of you. You cannot notice you’ve been doing that unless someone will break it up to you. That’s why the truth hurts. Because you’ll realise that the truths you’ve been believing for years were all lies.

Leave a Reply

